Breaking News

'Spotlight,' Brie Larson And Idris Elba Among 2016 Independent Spirit Award Winners

Here's one prize "The Revenant" can't win.

"Spotlight" grabbed another top Hollywood prize on Saturday, collecting the Film Independent Spirit Award for Best Feature. Oscar voting is closed, so the race is said and done. Still, this could be the first of two major victories for "Spotlight" this weekend -- unless the Academy warms to "The Revenant," of course. ("The Revenant" cost too much to qualify for the Indie Spirit Awards.)
Best Female Lead winner Brie Larson is almost guaranteed to return to the Oscar podium on Sunday, whereas Best Male Lead and Best Supporting Male champs Abraham Attah and Idris Elba weren't even nominated for Oscars. (#OscarsSoWhite.)
Doubling as a de facto Oscar dress rehearsal, the Independent Spirit Awards honor American movies made for less than $20 million. They're held at a beachside tent in Santa Monica. 
See the full list of winners below.
Best Feature
“Beasts of No Nation”
Best DirectorSean Baker – “Tangerine”
Cary Joji Fukunaga – “Beasts of No Nation”
Todd Haynes – “Carol”
Charlie Kaufman & Duke Johnson – “Anomalisa”
Tom McCarthy – “Spotlight”
David Robert Mitchell – “It Follows”
Best Female Lead
Cate Blanchett – “Carol”
Brie Larson – "Room"
Rooney Mara – “Carol”
Bel Powley – “Diary of a Teenage Girl”
Kitana Kiki Rodriguez – “Tangerine”
Best Male Lead
Christopher Abbott – “James White”
Abraham Attah – “Beasts of No Nation”
Ben Mendelsohn – “Mississippi Grind”
Jason Segel – “The End of the Tour”
Kudos Seihon – “Mediterranea”
Best Supporting Female
Robin Bartlett – “H.”
Jennifer Jason Leigh – “Anomalisa”
Marin Ireland – “Glass Chin”
Cynthia Nixon – “James White”
Mya Taylor – “Tangerine”
Best Supporting Male
Kevin Corrigan – “Results”
Paul Dano – “Love & Mercy”
Idris Elba – “Beasts of No Nation”
Richard Jenkins – “Bone Tomahawk” 
Michael Shannon – “99 Homes”
Best Screenplay
Charlie Kaufman – “Anomalisa”
Donald Marguiles – “The End of the Tour”
Phyllis Nagy – “Carol”
S. Craig Zahler – “Bone Tomahawk”
Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer – “Spotlight”
Best Cinematography
Cary Joji Fukunaga – “Beasts of No Nation”
Ed Lachman – “Carol”
Joshua James Richards – “Songs My Brothers Taught Me”
Michael Gioulakis – “It Follows”
Reed Morano – “Meadowland”
Best Documentary
“Best of Enemies”
“Heart of a Dog”
“The Look of Silence”
“The Russian Woodpecker”
Best Film Editing
Julio C. Perez IV – “It Follows”
Kristan Sprague – “Manos Sucias”
Nathan Nugent – “Room”
Ronald Bronstein and Benny Safdie – “Heaven Knows What”
Tom McArdle – “Spotlight”
Best First Feature
Josh Mond – “James White”
Josef Kubota Wladyka – “Manos Sucias” 
Jonas Carpignano – “Mediterranea” 
Chloe Zhao – “Songs My Brothers Taught Me” 
Marielle Heller – “The Diary of a Teenage Girl”
Best First Screenplay
Emma Donoghue – “Room”
Jesse Andrews – “Me and Earl and the Dying Girl”
John Magary, Russell Harbaugh, and Myna Joseph – “The Mend”
Jonas Carpignano – “Mediterranea”
Marielle Heller – “The Diary of a Teenage Girl”
Best International Film
“Embrace of the Serpent”
“A Pigeon Sat on a Branch Reflecting on Existence”
“Son of Saul”
John Cassavetes Award(Presented to a film made for less than $500,000)
“Christmas, Again”
“Heaven Knows What”
"Out of My Mind"
Robert Altman Award

No comments

Drop Your comment here